New Trustees Elected to NI Board

PARN Global News Article - 23 December 2014

New Trustees Elected to NI Board

The Nuclear Institute (NI) announced the results of its formal elections at an AGM on 4 December, welcoming five new Trustees to its Board.

Fiona Rayment, Rebecca Weston, Clive Smith, Paul Pearson and Alastair Laird were elected to join the Board for 2015. The new Trustees come from backgrounds across the energy industry, including PwC’s Energy Sector and the National Skills Academy Nuclear.

Tim Chittenden, Nuclear Institute President, said: "We are thrilled to welcome the new trustees to the Board, it was fantastic to have them join us for our final trustee meeting of the year on Thursday. We look forward to receiving the benefit of their great experience and enthusiasm as we work together with our staff and members to lead the NI forward."

Prior to election, the new trustees were reviewed by the nominations committee to ensure that they meet the requirements of the Nuclear Institute Bye Laws, and that the correct balance of members and learned members is maintained.

The candidates were nominated by the Board of Trustees as well as the membership. As the number proposed was within the total number of new trustees allowed, there was no need for a member ballot.